Paw Things#5 – The Bridgerton Connection

“A Visa holder and the Green Card make a lovely couple”…that’s my mom talking. She has been binge-watching ‘Bridgerton Season 2’ on Netflix and finds a ‘Bridgerton’ connection to everything.

I don’t know what Visa holders or Green Cards have to do with that drama series. But she finds a bizarre connection.

“Just like the lead couple in the Bridgerton romance series, where the hero and heroine are at odds with one another, visa holders play the ‘love-courtship-delayed romance’ game with Green Card all the time.”

Hmmm… woof! Funny, how mom gets influenced by TV shows and movies and finds a personal link. My brothers totally get annoyed when she puts on her ‘fake’ British accent and pretends to be a ‘Lady’.

But I like her like this – in ‘doing nothing’ mode. These days, she is not in a hurry to finish assignments or dive into research. She seems on some kind of break.

It has been a cold Spring this year. Punxsutawney Phil, the Groundhog has seen his shadow, meaning we’re in for 6 more weeks of winter. Thanks but no thanks, Mr. Groundhog! We’re all itching to go out to play.

I am blogging after a long time through ‘Paw Things’. And I have a lot to share with you but I will restrict myself to Bridgerton season 2. We are loving this season because of Kate Sharma, an Indian character played by Simone Ashley. Mom says it’s the first time a South Asian character is playing the lead in a British period drama. It’s an entertaining and inclusive show.

The story is quite gripping and we love Lady Whistledown’s letters, scheming mamas, Queen Charlotte’s whims, grand costumes, vibrant settings, elaborate mannerisms. But my mom does not quite like the make-up of the lead actresses. She thinks the makeup is too glossy…sort of oily and the foundation is not right. It spoils the natural charm of Kate (Simone Ashley) and Edwina (Charithra Chandran).

Hmmm…I do not have much idea about make-up.

For me, the star of the drama is Kate’s dog – Newton, a Pembroke Welsh Corgi. I like him. He is sass and adorable, like me. He has a ‘Happy’ face. We do look similar, don’t we?

Apart from the ‘Bridgerton’ craze affecting my mom, there is another exciting news. Happy’s Hairy Tale – Part 2 is in the making! Yay bark!

Guess, what? Mom likes to write about me in her books and I like to write about her and my family in ‘Paw Things’.

If you want to check out my first book – Happy’s Hairy Tale – The Corona Cut, please go here. My second book is based on some real-life incidents and my brothers have been brainstorming on it.

I will be back again with more great news for you. Till then, love bark from Happy Singh!

9 thoughts on “Paw Things#5 – The Bridgerton Connection

  1. Isn’t nice to finally see a South Asian character is playing the lead in a British period drama? I’ve heard many great things about Bridgerton, but haven’t watched it yet! Or, I might read Julia Quinn’s bestselling fictional book series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My fiancee is currently waiting for his visa to be approved so he can finally return to the UK so we can get married (haven’t seen him since august 2019), so I’m just passing the time by watching Bridgerton season 2! My only criticism was that there wasn’t enough Newton!

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you :)