When was the last time you got bored out of your wits?

image

When was the last time you got bored? Unfortunately, I don’t seem to remember mine!

I guess I have been running away from boredom all my growing up years but the irony is, I miss it now. I yearn to get bored. I remember those days when time would sit heavy on my hands and I would look for ways and means to do something to pass time. I don’t have time to get bored these days. And I have learnt with age and maturity, the importance of getting bored. It is one of the foremost reasons why people create!

All these years, technological advancement has pushed originality and creativity out of our lives. Even if we are creating something, it is borrowed from the internet. Where are those original creations, churned out of tedious brain storming? Everything is easily available now. Ideas, designs, thoughts…there is no need for us to think or strive for perfection. Everything is at our finger’s tip.

These days, we cannot be bored even if we would like to. Every other second we are flooded with messages, news, music, films, stories… Who has the time to get bored amidst so many glamorous intrusions?

I think,the unceremonious exit of boredom from our lives has done more damage than good. We are losing on our ability to contemplate. All of us have too many things to see, to hear, to read and do. We are an over exposed generation always bombarded with second hand, stale information.

And this is precisely why I want to get bored out of my wits. I have been living on second hand ideas for a long time now. I want to get bored and find my own resources…my originality. I am dying to get that whiff of fresh something…maybe just one original thought!

image

Here are a few famous minds advocating boredom. Read on to know what they have to say about the merits of monotony.

1) When hit by boredom, let yourself be crushed by it; submerge, hit bottom. In general, with things unpleasant, the rule is: The sooner you hit bottom, the faster you surface. The idea here is to exact a full look at the worst. The reason boredom deserves such scrutiny is that it represents pure, undiluted time in all its repetitive, redundant, monotonous splendor.

Boredom is your window on the properties of time that one tends to ignore to the likely peril of one’s mental equilibrium. It is your window on time’s infinity. Once this window opens, don’t try to shut it; on the contrary, throw it wide open.
Joseph Brodsky

2) Boredom always precedes a period of great creativity – Robert M. Pirsig

3) When you pay attention to boredom it gets unbelievably interesting – Jon Kabat-Zinn

4) Your true traveller finds boredom rather agreeable than painful. It is the symbol of his liberty – his excessive freedom. He accepts his boredom, when it comes, not merely philosophically, but almost with pleasure – Huxley

5) Don’t try to ‘fix’ the child’s boredom – rather, let the child find his or her inner resources – Julia Cameron

6) Don’t be afraid to let yourself get bored because some of the most amazing things are created through boredom ― Rachel Hamilton

Congratulations, in case you are enjoying the good old ‘boring’ sensation. You are very fortunate and on the verge of creating something great. The key is to rise from boredom rather than give in to the sensation and fall.

As for me, I will have to devise a way to get utterly, hopelessy and absolutely BORED OUT OF MY WITS. YAAAAAAAWN!

Images courtesy Google

9 thoughts on “When was the last time you got bored out of your wits?

Won't you drop a comment here? :)

